THE IMPORTANCE OF ROLLING WITH THE HECKLERS WHILE CAMPUS PREACHING- BY BROTHER MICAH ARMSTRONG

In preaching to campus crowds it is so important and effective to just roll with the comments from the students at times.

Much of what is said from students is designed to intimidate you into backing down by trying to make you look ridiculous.

Sometimes it is right to defend yourself and diffuse but other times it is best to just go along with it without batting an eye.

Depends upon the leading of the Lord, the mood of the crowd, etc.

The other day at Ole Miss a student asked me where I was from.

I replied “Florida”.

Another student began trying to ridicule me by saying repeatedly ” YOU MEAN YOU CAME ALL THE WAY HERE FROM FLORIDA JUST TO TELL US WE ARE GOING TO HELL???!!!!!”

We of course preach much more than just that but preaching and warning against sin, judgment and hell is an important part of biblical gospel preaching and much needed and neglected in our culture.

I didn’t miss a beat and replied “Oh no I was just telling people in Alabama the other day they are heading to hell.”

“I have told people in Arizona they were heading to hell.”

“I have told people in New Mexico they are heading to hell.”

“I have told people in Indiana they are heading to hell.”

“I have told people in Florida they are heading to hell.”

“I have been all over everywhere the last ten years telling people they are heading to hell.”

When I turned that on the heckler the crowd started laughing, it shut the heckler down and I had the full attention of the crowd.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

