PREACHING AT THE UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH FLORIDA AND UNIVERSITY OF CENTRAL FLORIDA 2/7-2/10/12- BY BROTHER MICAH ARMSTRONG

 

Tuesday February 7, 2012-University of South Florida-Tampa, Florida:  Really wanted to preach here today because I understand there are more classes on this campus on Tuesday and Thursday but we were rained out. 

 

Wednesday February 8, 2012-University of South Florida-Tampa, Florida:  We had an unavoidable appointment at 11:30 AM so we arrived on campus later than we wanted.  I began preaching at 1:55 PM.  There was a small group of about 15-20 students sitting around the tables talking. 

 

The crowd remained small for some time and seemed so apathetic I had to use some humor to get them listening and asking questions.  It worked and the crowd increased some but not much. 

 

BIBLICAL COMMAND TO PREACH

 

As I was answering the usual objections from a group of professing Christians one student who professed to be an Assembly of God pastor’s son asked me why I use the method I am using instead of a “Socratic” method.  This was strange to me because I was just answering questions with scripture when he asked this.  I replied “Why should I use the Socratic method when I can use the Biblical method John, Jesus, Peter, Paul and the disciples used?”  We have been commanded to preach (Luke 24:47, Acts 10:42, Titus 1:3) repentance to sinners because God now commands them to repent (Acts 17:30-31, Mark 1:1-4, Mark 1:14-15, Matthew 4:17, Luke 5:32, Luke 13:3, 5, Acts 2:38, Acts 3:19, Acts 20:21, Acts 26:20, Mark 6:12). 

 

PASTOR’S SON A REBEL

 

This pastor’s son was no more saved than the devil himself and continued to oppose, interrupt, mock and heckle for the remainder of the day.  The crowd size, opposition and hostility continued to increase gradually throughout the afternoon. 

 

Eventually I left the lawn and walked across the patio to the ledge in front of Subway.  Heckler’s continued to get in my face and try to block the preaching so I moved and elevated myself. 

 

The crowd grew to around 75 and was becoming increasingly hostile and upset as their excuses were being shredded by the Sword of the Spirit which is the Word of God.  A black male student I have seen and talked to for years walked by and threw his soda on me and sarcastically said “Oh sorry!” to the delight of the crowd. 

 

JOHN LENNON IS IN HELL

 

The AG pastor’s son stood on a table across the patio and began leading them with his guitar in singing John Lennon’s “Imagine”.  I rained on their parade by proclaiming John Lennon was in hell.  This immediately stopped the disruptive singing and increased the hostility of the crowd. 

 

I continued proclaiming, reproving, and rebuking with all longsuffering and doctrine until 4:45 PM. 

 

Friday February 10, 2012-University of Central Florida-Orlando, Florida:  Arrived on campus just before 1 PM.  There was a Christian group behind me in the free speech area singing worship songs.  They were not very loud when I began preaching. 

 

GO YE INTO ALL THE WORLD AND SING THE GOSPEL?

 

Our preacher friend Brother Richard showed up as he had been preaching here throughout the week.  I began preaching around 1:05 PM and soon began to gather a small group of around 25-30.  At this point the group behind me continued to sing louder and louder so that it became more and more difficult to preach.  It certainly seemed they were trying to distract from the preaching and draw the crowds attention to themselves. 

 

I really have no problem with them being out there singing worship songs as many in the past sang songs in the open air before they preached.  I did have a problem with their trying to drown me out and also being willing to sing but unwilling to obey the explicit Bible command to preach which means lifting up your voice and proclaiming the Word of God in the public forum (Acts 10:42, Luke 24:47, Romans 10:14, Titus 1:3, Mark 16:15, Matthew 10:27). 

 

THE RIGHTEOUS ARE BOLD AS A LION

 

I rebuked the group for their cowardice and told them I believed they had sin in their lives and that was why they could not confront the sin on the campus. 

 

At this point the “leader” got upset and came over and began to scold me.  “Brother Micah I have been hearing you since I went to school here for many years now and I am tired of you.  You are a false prophet!  You don’t know those guys!” 

 

THE CHALLENGE

 

He then began to ask me publicly on how much I pray.  I tried to avoid answering this as it seemed totally inappropriate to mention this publicly.  He continued to press me though so I finally responded with an honest answer.  He then said “That is all you pray and you are out here preaching!?”  Of course he seemed full of pride.  He then asked me have I ever seen someone who was blind healed?  I told him I had prayed for sick people and seen them healed.  “No but have you ever seen anyone who was blind healed after you prayed for them?!”  I responded I had not. 

 

He then told the crowd in a very showy way that when a sick person came up I had to pray for them and if they did not get healed then that proved I was a false prophet.  I pointed out to him and the crowd that John the Baptist was full of the Holy Ghost and a godly man and never did any miracles.  I also quoted him Mark 6:5 where Jesus said He could do mighty works there because of their unbelief.  I quoted him Matthew 7:21-23 and pointed out to him and the crowd we are not known necessarily by supernatural works but by our fruit.  I also quoted him 2 Thessalonians 2:9 and pointed out to him and the crowd that satan also has power to do miracles.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

